About the Bathroom…

If there’s a room in a house that requires expert and careful planning, it’s the bathroom. OK, the kitchen too 🙂 For one thing, they’re expensive rooms to outfit. For another, whatever you decide on, like the materials you use, the fixtures and where you position them, will be hard (and again expensive) to change once they’re there. So it pays to put a lot of thought into them, and I mean this from the get-go. Just imagine, you’ll live with and in them for some 20 odd years so they might as well be “perfect”.

The bathroom was one of the things we discussed at length during our consultation with the in-house designer in December. She provided us the basic layout, which we immediately signed off on. We thought it makes sense and would work for us. However, I think we all got lost in translation when we got into the details I wanted done in the bathroom 🙂 These you will see in their 3-D rendering. I probably would have trouble explaining some of these even in English/Filipino especially without visual aids….. and I had to describe them in German!

Bad 1

Anyway they got the idea of the alcove above the tub right. I was thinking about tiling the  recessed wall of the niche with a patterned tile like encaustic or painted cement tiles to add some interest. But for so small a surface, may not be worth the trouble and extra cost.

Bad 2

I also wanted the tub encased in the same tile as the floor for continuity, to kind of optically expand the floor space. I don’t understand why  they charged extra for this.

Bad 3

These are the details I had the most difficulty describing. I think this is the default vanity tiling they do. Didn’t like it very much so I may have to explain these details later on with the tiler. Hope I could explain myself better then 😉

Bad 4

In the end I think we got everything across after a few discussions over the phone and after sending our edits of their 3-D renderings (similar to what you saw here). Unfortunately, they didn’t do any more rendering after that but at least they got the major items right in the plan.

Final Bad

Zum Schluss, here are photos of bathrooms that I was inspired by.

 

 

Leave a comment